Spiced Apple Butter

I came home with 12 lbs. of apples (a variety of pink ladies, granny smith, roma beauties, and fuji) that were, “cosmetically off.” Meaning they were fine apples but didn’t look perfect. I had intended on making apple butter so appearances didn’t matter. I’m still going through Canning For a New Generation’s seasonally recipes so that’s been my staple when canning + my own take on spice editions etc. Apple Butter is pretty labor intensive (especially when you don’t have an apple peeler/corer and a crock pot) but I enjoy the different steps which include using my food mill that doesn’t get pulled out very often. Here’s an online version of the recipe. Full disclosure: I pretty much ate a whole jar by the spoonful.

IMG_3080

IMG_3082

IMG_3084

IMG_3086

IMG_3088

IMG_3089

IMG_3094

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

One response to “Spiced Apple Butter

  1. Pingback: Fruit Crisp for One | Soup and the Clouds

Leave a Reply

