Almond Milk

I’ve been getting into almond milk lately so I decided to make my own. I recently discovered how easy it is to make almond butter and almond milk is the same way. Homemade is far superior to store bought, simple process/ingredient list (almonds + water), and inexpensive to make. It does require soaking the almonds overnight-24 hours but it’s well worth the wait. I used this recipe from Food52.

IMG_1818
After soaking the almonds for several hours they release a milk-like substance.
IMG_1832
Blending strained almonds + water.  After a while they release more milky liquid.
IMG_1833
Lastly, let the almond mush + liquid drain in cheese cloth and squeeeeeze.
IMG_1838

Voilà! Almond Milk!

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

2 responses to “Almond Milk

  1. OHMYGOSH. You have seriously made my day! I am literally obsessed with almond milk… I can’t explain how much I love it – but I had no idea you could make it at home? So trying this. Thank you!!

  2. Pingback: Date Almond Milk Smoothie | Soup and the Clouds

Leave a Reply

