East Coast Beer Love: Beer Street and TØRST

I always aim to taste some local beer whenever I go out of town so I went on a quest to find some East Coast beers. A friend recommended I check out Beer Street on Graham while in NY. It’s a small shop with a carefully picked bottle selection and beers on tap. You can taste any of the draft beers and take home a growler. Their license for drinking beer on the premises is pending so the owner suggested I check out Tørst down the road in Greenpoint. I’m so glad he did! Tørst was conceived by Gypsy brewer Jeppe Jarnit-Bjergsø of Evil Twin Brewing (brother of Mikkel Borg Bergsø of Mikkeller) with a focus on upscale, rare brews. I didn’t have a local beer but I did have a Beligium Koerseklakske Brouwerij ‘t Gaverhopke, Farmhouse Saison. Delicious! I did however, get some East Coast beer to take westward from Beer Street. Mission accomplished, I’d say.

IMG_0783

IMG_0784

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

Leave a Reply

