Vintage Postcards

I have a small but ever growing vintage postcard collection. This weekend I attended Hal Lutsky’s Vintage Paper Fair in Golden Gate Park. There are plenty of postcards to sort through, all categorized by various nouns of which you most likely have never seen on a postcard. They might depict a new L.A. freeway, the interior of a library, or a single tree. Every person, place or thing was a reason to write to a correspondent. My predicament is I want to send them to friends but I would like one sent back in return. An exchange. Is that too much to ask now-a-days?
IMG_1235

IMG_1236

IMG_1237

IMG_1238

Mark Twain at his home in Hannibal, Missouri
IMG_1241

The life and death of a Redwood tree in Muir Woods.
IMG_1243

I love a hand drawn pictorial map with great fonts!
IMG_1244

A nubula. I’ve always wanted to send a postcard from space!IMG_1246

Sand Dollars never seemed that strange to me. If only they could be accepted as monetary payment.

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

Leave a Reply

