Serpico.

Years ago, my friend, who has a great love for film, lent me her friend’s VHS tape recording of Serpico and I never watched it. It was one of those long lived VHS tapes that had been recorded over with previous titles crossed out. I had the intention of watching it but it got pushed into a pile labeled “to be watched/ read/culturally absorbed”. I gave it back because too much time had passed and I was a once removed borrower. It wasn’t until last year that I finally gave Sidney Lumet my full attention and watched his films every chance I had. I finally watched Serpico. Based on a true story, Al Pacino plays a plainclothes cop (in the 70s) who uncovers a deeply corrupt police force. If you haven’t seen it watch it now! Like many of Lumet’s films, it’s as much of a tribute to the streets of New York as it is to the story of an extraordinary human being. New York in ’73 has a lot of character.

p.s. I’m not going to lie… he also has a pretty cute dog friend. A sheep dog!

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

Leave a Reply

