Blaukraut.

I’ve been curious about a German red cabbage dish called blaukraut which literally means “blue cabbage.” I didn’t make the traditional version of which many boast of their Bavarian grandmother’s recipe. I sort of just combined bits (mostly herbs and spices) from many recipes and winged it. It was easy… just red cabbage, yellow onion, and an apple, cooked down with some olive oil (most people used butter) and then simmered with apple cider vinegar, a bay leaf, some sage, caraway seeds, ground cloves, all spice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and some S+P for about an hour. I left out the sugar because of the natural sweetness of the apple. I’m sure most people would enjoy it better (or only) with the butter and sugar but I guess I’m not most people. Here it is pre cookdown…

köstlich!

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

One response to “Blaukraut.

  1. Sometimes things just taste better when you wing it 🙂

    Thanks for linking to my own blaukraut receipe! It’s one of my favorite German side dishes.

Leave a Reply

