A great day.

It started out by riding our bikes to Farm:Table for breakfast where I saw a familiar face, drank delicious coffee and ate most likely the best yogurt/granola combo I’ve ever had. Next stop MoMa to see Richard Serra’s drawings. The man loves his paint sticks! No photos were allowed but I did happen to take too many photos of Dieter Rams’ amazing turntables which preceded our trip to Groove Yard in Oakland. We got off Bart (unknowingly) at the wrong station and rode our bikes the long way to the record store. Groove Yard specializes in jazz but surprisingly I also found some non-jazz albums I’ve been looking for including: Ann Peebles I Can’t Stand the Rain, Bob Dylan’s Blonde On Blonde (the missing link in our Bobby D. section) and probably the most exciting and hard to come by… Magic Sam’s Black Magic. As you would assume, Magic Sam is pretty magical. He only recorded two albums in his short life so I was very excited to pull his second album out of the bin. On the jazz side of things, I found a copy of Thelonious Monk’s It’s Monk’s Time. Record stores and book stores alike overwhelm me being surrounded by so many great personalities in one place! Upon leaving the store, the owner informed us that the Rockridge Bart Station was seriously two blocks away but at least we got a good bike ride out of our folly. We made it to the city just in time to ride to Imagiknit to get supplies for a new project. Last but not least, we met a friend at Toronado for some tasty beer. It was a great day indeed! Learning, riding, taking it all in. Cheers, to all good days to come in 2012!

Here’s me and Bob just hangin’ out. No big deal…

 

h.

About Soup and the Clouds

I treasure the small adventures in life. Such as, listening to records, making jam from farmer's market produce, seeing new sites, eating the best tomato I've ever had, reading a good book, watching a film, appreciating a good font, going for a long bike ride or walking down a street I've never walked on before. The list goes on.

Leave a Reply

